Ruth Emmie Lang: Beasts of Extraordinary Circumstance

Beasts of Extraordinary Circumstance


Weylyn Grey is not your average hero, he’s the kind of hero that stays in your heart forever. Ruth Emmie Lang has written a novel about magic – the kind of magic that is created between people, when we truly connect and understand each other. On the surface Weylyn is weird, he has uncommon skills, perhaps even magical ones. But that is just the surface in this story, which is fundamentally about love and how difficult it can sometimes be and how we people make it even more difficult for ourselves.

Beasts of Extraordinary Circumstance

In Beasts of Extraordinary Circumstance we follow Weylyn’s story through people he meets and interacts with. Weylyn’s life is not easy, nor is it for many of those his path intersects. But, in some curious ways he brings solace to others, even if their first reaction to him was less than enthusiastic.

Weylyn’s life starts with a snow storm in July and a bumpy road follows there on. He meets his love of life already in childhood, Mary Penlore. For many the first love is unforgettable, and for these two it certainly is with all the adventures and challenges to follow. But it takes a lot of learning and life schooling before Weylyn and Mary realize the obvious.

I truly loved reading this book, although it took quite a while to get to the end. It is a philosophical love story, which takes the reader into its enchanting world. The magic of this story doesn’t come from wands or spells, but from the extraordinary spirit of the characters and the atmosphere so skilfully created by Ruth Emmie Lang.






Beasts of Extraordinary Circumstance

A Novel

By Ruth Emmie Lang

Ruth Emmie Lang set out originally to create a series of fairytale illustrations deeply rooted in the natural world. What sprung up instead was BEASTS OF EXTRAORDINARY CIRCUMSTANCE (St. Martin’s Press; November 14, 2017), her debut novel that pulses with magic. In the vein of Karen Russell and Sarah Addison Allen, Lang’s magical realism story explores just how lonely being special can be. With writing that feels as enchanting as the book’s atmosphere, Weylyn’s story is ultimately a love story to the loners and the creatures of the world.

Orphaned, raised by wolves, and the proud owner of a horned pig named Merlin, Weylyn Grey knew he wasn’t like other people. But when he single-handedly stopped that tornado on a stormy Christmas day in Oklahoma, he realized just how different he actually was. As amazing as these powers may appear, they tend to manifest themselves at inopportune times and places, jeopardizing not only his own life, but the life of Mary, the woman he loves.

BEASTS OF EXTRAORDINARY CIRCUMSTANCE tells the story of Weylyn Grey’s life from the perspectives of the people who knew him, loved him, and even a few who thought he was just plain weird. Although he doesn’t stay in any of their lives for long, he leaves each of them with a story to tell: great storms that evaporate into thin air; fireflies that make phosphorescent honey; a house filled with spider webs and the strange man who inhabits it. There is one story, however, that Weylyn wishes he could change: his own. But first he has to muster enough courage to knock on Mary’s front door.

Crafted with spell binding and storied writing, Ruth Emmie Lang teaches us how to find magic in the ordinary in this magical realism debut. The perfect cozy fall read, BEASTS OF EXTRAORDINARY CIRCUMSTANCE is best read with a cup of tea and a house pet in your lap during stormy weather.


About the Author

Ruth Emmie Lang was born in Glasgow, Scotland and has the red hair to prove it. When she was four years old, she immigrated to Ohio where she has lived for the last 27 years. She has since lost her Scottish accent, but still has the hair. Ruth currently lives in Columbus, Ohio with her husband and dreams of someday owning a little house in the woods where she can write more books. Beasts of Extraordinary Circumstance is her first novel.”